So straight up I never really liked Bruno Mars all that much. I thought his music was fun to listen to but didn’t go deep enough. Unorthodox Jukebox was especially frustrating because it felt almost like an album of Bruno Mars and his cover band rehashing other influential artists’ style without adding anything new or interesting. The only thing that kept me begrudgingly sticking around was his performances. Because even though I didn’t much like Bruno Mars as an album maker, I couldn’t deny his charisma during his live stages.

Fast forward to 2016 and the release of his newest album, 24K Magic. I definitely went in with low expectations…But ended up actually loving it? But this review isn’t about that album, it’s about one particular music video that encapsulates what I love about Bruno Mars: his ability to perform.

So here we are now in 2017 and he’s recently released a music video (or a glorified choreography video) for “That’s What I Like”. I actually quite like the choreography. And with the way it is shot, slightly choppy and with the inserted graphics, makes the whole thing poppy and cute and downright charming (and also sexy??). But that’s who Bruno Mars is, right? His performances always seem effortless and fun, as if it all comes naturally to him to only want to have a good time. And that’s why I love Bruno Mars so much. He’s small, he’s cute, he’s charming, he’s confident, and he’s so much fun. And by embracing that image in this music video, he excels. I watched this thing and smiled from beginning to end and then watched it again and tried to dance along.

Please stay like this Bruno. I love adorably charming Bruno the best.

