The original “XO TOUR Llif3” is nihilism at its most listenable and I love it. The nostalgic and lofi electronic loop that Lil Uzi Vert stumbles through is actually sort of musical and sweet and could make a really interesting R&B track à la SZA. It’s a weird little song with interesting and playful musical choices (in stark contrast to the blasé cynicism of the lyrics) and I’m glad Lil Uzi Vert has found success with it. Also I hope he’s ok.

DJs josh pan and medasin recently recorded and put out a “remix” of the hook–though really it’s more of a cover–and although I like the original better, there is something just as darkly sarcastic and playful about the remix, albeit the attitude of the thing is completely different. I still haven’t decided if they meant the release to be serious or something silly they did for fun. I’m leaning more towards the latter but hey doesn’t mean it’s not something I won’t listen to again. josh pan and medasin forgo a trap beat or really much of any kind of production–a bit surprising for medasin, who usually puts out heavily manipulated electronic remixes–and settle for a more uplifting arrangement: piano in major (the original was minor) with some ambient rain. The whole thing has an almost romantic feel, a lazy sort of happiness. Which makes the repeated hook–“Push me to the edge / All my friends are dead”–that much more nihilistic. It’s very tongue in cheek and even if it’s all a joke, if I’m able to laugh and also enjoy it at the same time, we all win in the end, right? Or does that mean I’ve become too cynical? As long as everyone is ok. Let’s still check on Lil Uzi Vert (and josh pan and medasin) a few times just in case…

Sidenote: the spoken word at the beginning before the singing? So good. So funny. 

